

CMQ-71039-001

Meeting of October 31, 2024

## 2024-002

## **CANCELLATION OF FORMER MAYOR'S CREDIT CARD**

**WHEREAS** the Council of the Municipality of Grosse-Île (the Municipality) has been unable to administer its affairs for lack of quorum since October 3, 2024;

**WHEREAS** as long as this situation persists, the Commission municipale du Québec (the Commission) may, by virtue of the powers conferred upon it by section 100 of the Municipal Commission Act (RLRQ, c. C-35), adopt any measure it deems necessary for the administration of the Municipality;

**WHEREAS** on October 4, 2024, the President of the Commission appointed two of its members, namely Me Philippe Asselin and, in his absence, Me Martin St-Laurent, to see to the administration of the Municipality and adopt to this effect by resolution any necessary measures;

**WHEREAS**, following the resignation of Mrs. Diana-Joy Davis on September 30, 2024, the position of Mayor has been vacant since October 3, 2024;

**WHEREAS** Mrs. Davies held a Visa Desjardins credit card in the course of her duties at the Municipality;

**WHEREAS** the granting and use of a credit card by an elected official is a practice that is now prohibited ((Re) Request for ethics inquiry concerning elected official Gaétan Guindon, 2024 CanLII 39512 (QC CMNQ), par. 72 to 77).

**WHEREAS**, under the circumstances, management recommends that this credit card be cancelled;

## THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

**TO CANCEL** the Visa Desjardins credit card held by Mrs. Diana-Joy Davies in her capacity as Mayor of the Municipality;

**TO AUTHORIZE** the Municipality's Director General and Clerk-Treasurer to take all necessary steps to this effect, including signing all required documents for and in the name of the Municipality with the financial institution concerned.

|   | The digital version of this document is the original from the Commission municipale du Québec |           |  |
|---|---|-----------|--|
| Philippe Asselin<br>Member<br>Commission municipale du Québec | -   |           |  |
|   | Secretary   | President |  |